RSS Feed

Truth

I must admit that I began this post on 21 January, 2012.  Yes, my life filled with ups, downs, demands, children, exams, and illness for a bit.  Since 1 May, I have had the goal of finalizing my drafted posts and becoming more regular with this blog, yet I am finally doing so now.  I am saying this with gratitude, which is an improvement, as I have shown extreme impatience with myself in the past.  The last six months have been good months, tough months, physically challenging months; yet, rewarding months, as well.

I must also admit that I do not recall the reason why I began collecting these musings on the topic of truth; however, I am following through and posting them anyway.  I love the words of truth, advice, or perspective of those who surround me, or came before me.  I always feel I know the world a little better after hearing someone else’s view of it.  So, without further ado,

Perspectives on Truth:

It is hard to believe that a man is telling the truth when you know that you would lie if you were in his place.  ~Henry Louis Mencken, A Little Book in C Major, 1916

If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything.  ~Mark Twain

Who lies for you will lie against you.  ~Bosnian Proverb

No man has a good enough memory to make a successful liar.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Make yourself an honest man, and then you may be sure there is one less rascal in the world.  ~Thomas Carlyle

A half truth is a whole lie.  ~Yiddish Proverb

A lie will easily get you out of a scrape, and yet, strangely and beautifully, rapture possesses you when you have taken the scrape and left out the lie.  ~Charles Edward Montague, Disenchantment

Those who think it is permissible to tell white lies soon grow color-blind.  ~Austin O’Malley

A truth that’s told with bad intent beats all the lies you can invent.  ~William Blake, “Auguries of Innocence,” Poems from the Pickering Manuscript

The least initial deviation from the truth is multiplied later a thousandfold.  ~Aristotle

 

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

