RSS Feed

A year of learning

I am so excited for the year ahead and all the things I am going to learn in it!  I am half-way through my bachelor’s degree, which will be just a milestone for me and not a stopping point.  I am learning new languages, taking on new gardening, and just loving learning.  This evening, I stopped in at khanacademy.org and brushed up on my plate tectonics with one of its videos. I love geography!  Peoples, places, cultures, language, food, traditions!  Love it!

I’m making progress on my algebra course, too.  Math has always been a challenge, so I am working lots of extra practice problems.  I am going to reward myself for my effort with snippets of foreign films (mostly Indian- a.k.a Bollywood films), practicing Hindi with Byki and Rosetta Stone, and some random searches for other learning opportunities that pop into my head at random, like gardening.

That leads me to another learning goal this year:  I want to become a better gardener.  Last year was my first year succeeding with green beans and peas.  In past years, I’ve grown some good tomatoes, cucumbers, and, squash.  My search tonight lead me to the term “aquaponics” and an intriguing video:

This one is a bit of an advertisement, but it contains some good pictures of what an aquaponic system looks like, and the site has links to free information so there is no need to pay for an e-book- I found several sites asking up to $50 for one!

As I consider my career emphasis, my desire to learn the principles of social entrepreneurship, and my current financial status (ouch, ouch!)  I find this concept inspiring!  I wonder how I might use this concept myself, and how I might assist others with it….

In addition to these, I plan on learning some editing skills so I can create some digital scrapbooks and family albums.  I do not know why, but although I started out as a great family historian, I have failed absurdly in the picture-taking and archiving departments!   I want to improve on that!  When my children are grown an gone, a day that comes closer by the minute, I do not want them saying, “Mom, why didn’t we ever do anything together?”  I want the memories and the hard copy photographs as proof!  I want memories of fun, adventure, learning, joy, and love!  So, I need to make them and take time to preserve them!

One more goal: I need to start exercising again!  (I think it’s amazing how easily one finals weekend throws off my schedule enough to bump a good habit out of its place…)

So much to do, so very little time!  I am making the most of my New Year!  What are you up to?

Until next time,

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

