RSS Feed

Remembering Romance, continued: Hugs and Kisses!

  Hello, everyone!  Yesterday (Sunday, supposed to be relaxing and joyful, was definitely not!) offered me several challenging opportunities for practicing remembering love and romance.  I’d like to offer you a jumbled rainbow of my archived quotes.  Perhaps one will make you smile, strengthen your resolve, soften your heart, or give courage to your spirit, as rereading these this morning did for me.  I hope you enjoy! 

 happiness is like a kiss-

In order to get any good out of it

you have to give it to somebody else.

-anonymous

Don’t worry, be happy!  -Bobby McFerrin

A hug is like a boomerang – you get it back right away. ~Bil Keane, “Family Circus

Everybody needs a hug. It changes your metabolism. ~Leo Buscaglia

You can’t wrap love in a box, but you can wrap a person in a hug. ~Author Unknown

Hug Department: Always Open ~Author Unknown

I love hugging. I wish I was an octopus, so I could hug ten people at a time. ~Drew Barrymore

No matter how hard you hug your money, it never hugs back. ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

I will not play at tug o’ war
I’d rather play at hug o’ war,
Where everyone hugs
Instead of tugs….
~Shel Silverstein

Arm ourselves for war? No! All the arms we need are for hugging. ~Author Unknown

A hug is a handshake from the heart. ~Author Unknown

You can’t give a hug without getting a hug. ~Author Unknown

A hug delights and warms and charms,
 that must be why God gave us arms.
~Author Unknown

Hugs are the universal medicine. ~Author Unknown

A hug is a great gift – one size fits all, and it’s easy to exchange. ~Author Unknown

A kiss without a hug is like a flower without the fragrance. ~Proverb

If you’re angry at a loved one, hug that person. And mean it. You may not want to hug – which is all the more reason to do so. It’s hard to stay angry when someone shows they love you, and that’s precisely what happens when we hug each other. ~Walter Anderson, The Confidence Course, 1997

Hugs grease the wheels of the world. ~Author Unknown

A hug is two hearts wrapped in arms. ~Author Unknown

I don’t discriminate – I’m an equal-opportunity hugger. ~Author Unknown

A hug is a smile with arms, a laugh with a stronger grip. ~The Quote Garden

Hugging has no unpleasant side effects and is all natural. There are no batteries to replace, it’s inflation-proof and non-fattening with no monthly payments. It’s non-taxable, non-polluting, and is, of course, fully refundable. ~Author Unknown

Never wait until tomorrow to hug someone you could hug today,
because when you give one, you get one right back your way.
~Author Unknown

Sometimes it’s better to put love into hugs than to put it into words. ~Author Unknown

Be a love pharmacist: dispense hugs like medicine – they are! ~The Quote Garden

A hug is the shortest distance between friends. ~Author Unknown

Hugs can do great amounts of good – especially for children.
Princess Diana

They invented hugs to let people know you love them without saying anything  -Bil Keane

We need 4 hugs a day for survival. We need 8 hugs a day for maintenance. We need 12 hugs a day for growth.
 Virginia Satir

Millions and millions of years would still not give me half enough time to describe that tiny instant of all eternity when you put your arms around me and I put my arms around you. ~Jacques Prévert

The secret to having it all  . . . is believing you already do!

“In my ninety-plus years, I have learned a secret. I have learned that when good men and good women face challenges with optimism, things will always work out! Truly, things always work out!”
~ President Gordon B. Hinckley

Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind.  Look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true.  Think only of the best, work only for the best, and expect only the best.  Forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future. Give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others.  Live on the faith that the whole world is on your side so long as you are true to the best that is in you!                                                                                                                                           –Christian D. Larson

(context for including this in my love quotes:  I think to myself, “what am I bringing to my relationships?  what am my creating?  do I hold my spouse in smallness, flaws, and mistakes of the past; or, do I wake up allowing him the opportunity to grow and change, do I recognize that he is a different person today than he was yesterday- just as I am?”)

“BE the change you wish to see in the world.”  Gandhi

                                                                                                                       

i carry your heart with me

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
 my heart) i am never without it (anywhere i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
 by only me is your doing, my darling)

i fear
 no fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) i want
no world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)

e.e. cummings

  I’ll be back to share more soon!  This month is such a big one, I’ll have lots to share, including some of the projects, gifts, children’s crafts, and decorating I have planned. 

 

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

