RSS Feed

My wishes

We had a wonderful Christmas!  I hope every one did, too.  Our house is calmer than before Christmas, and everyone here has basically spent the past two days vegetating together in front of media, playing card/board games, or visit back and forth with family.  Our celebrations were simple and filled with traditions.  We didn’t exchange a lot of gifts, it was just right, and we did not have a fuss about what anyone did or didn’t get for Christmas.  Our children don’t see dollar signs pre-Christmas, or become greedy for “stuff”, which is such a blessing!  We had a couple of sweet neighbors play “Secret Santa” by leaving gifts for the children, which we appreciate, and we feel loved.  We have basically everything we need and want; and yet, we know that Christmas is not in any box!  Christmas is in knowing Jesus Christ and in love, which anyone and everyone can hold in his/her heart year-round no matter what the circumstances may be.  For me, Christmas is remembering, faith, warmth, love, family, and togetherness!   We chose to “pay it forward” with some of our blessings as a family, even before these sweet little experiences, and now I am even more excited to get busy with them.

I loved having all my kids around and sharing Christmas movies and Christmas music for the past week!   No stress, no worries, or deadlines!  We have a rather large collection loaded in our I-tunes library decades of collecting in the making, but klove (online, www.klove.com) is my radio station of choice (I’ve been a listener since I was 14 and glad its nationwide), and it’s had some wonderful selections!  I recommend it any day of the year!  I love listening to Christmas carols, especially the ones that focus on the real Christmas!  I am not ready to give them up, and I am glad I don’t have to, even if other people want to get back to everyday business.

My children are missing the snow, and to be honest, I have really enjoyed the warmer than usual weather!  I know the snow is a blessing though, because we will need it next year, so I am praying that the snow will drop (heavily) this year and that America will be protected from drought and a good growing season next year.

Some of us had an Indian themed evening last night,  which was fun. Not really Christmassy, but we had togetherness!   We ate Tandoori Chicken ( I love the Internet and the wonderful, rich availability it gives to other people, cultures, and recipes), some vegetarian curry/masala dishes, rice (my mom and I made everything with either nut or seed milks so I could try everything, and left-over vegan cream pies for dessert; a slide show of India (thank you, Mathew!), and the epic movie Jodhaa AkbarHrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai are both superb in their roles and my family has watched it a few times!  Fun, fun, fun!  I loved cooking with my mother and just being with others…,

Peace is good!

Five more days before my children and I all hit the books again.  I love simply having time with them!  So thankful for this break from the world and the chance to reconnect with those I love.

With all my heart, I wish everyone peace and comfort, and that love surrounds each of us as we transition into 2012.

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

