RSS Feed

Winter Romance, part 2

Hi, again!

I am beginning to make some progress on my Christmas projects.  In past years, I’ve been well under way by mid-October; however, being in school full-time and juggling my fabulous kiddles has made “projecting” (as my big brother calls it) a little more challenging this time around.  I am bound and determined to sneak in whatever I can, especially in pursuit of romance.

I have always adored the idea of hanging mistletoe or kissing balls- how fun and romantic!  Right now I am feeling a little too frugal to spend $3 or 4 on dried mistle toe because, in my opinion, they do not store well from year-to-year.  I want the experience without the broken little bits ending up in the bottom of my ornament storage boxes, and, without having to buy them new each year.  I was excited when I found someone else’s brilliant idea on Pinterest (I love, love, love Pinterest!) and decided to try making felt mistletoe.  You can find the link to a pattern on my Pinterest Christmas Holiday Craft and Decor board or @ http://www.stayathomeartist.com/2010/12/make-your-own-mistletoe-tutorial.html.  So, here is one of my little bunches- still a work in progress:

I downloaded the pattern and reduced it because I wanted my mistletoe sized more like the real thing.  I used a dark green craft felt I picked up at Walmart for 20 cents a sheet, although I think it would be lovely to make some in the future with some great felted wool; if I find the right color sweater at a thrift store.  I repurposed the ribbon  from something I worked on last year, and the little glass pearl beads were only $1.30 at the craft store.  I have plenty of them left over for something else wonderful, too!  So, all in all, for less than $2.00 (including tax) I made a few of these.  I may try repositioning the felt layers to make them a little longer and more spindly, but I thought this was cute.  Now I am giddy with excitement over the idea of hanging these up!  I think I’ll use some clear thread, so they hand down without seeming too weighted.  Doesn’t something like this put you in the mindframe for some sparking?  Now, if I can just convince my three adorable daughters not to torment their big brothers about kisses too much….Well, until my next idea comes along,

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

