RSS Feed

A song that just makes me need to hug my kids!

So I was listening to the radio as I drove home from dropping off William at his class this morning and I heard the song Remind me who I am by Jason Gray.  This song is about a man’s personal journey of faith and his relationship with God, yet when I hear his voice, I am reminded of something very critical to me as a parent:  my children need to know love and they will learn it primarily from me.  While the adult in this song is obviously looking, searching, and wanting confirmation for himself, a child would not necessarily do that on his or her own.  They inherently know and accept affection and service, and give it, too.  However, a child needs that love reaffirmed by those around him or her- parent, siblings, relatives, friends, and community, or he or she could lose that identity as a loved being.  I hear the song- remind me who I am to you, remind me why I am loved- and I recognize how dearly important that is for a healthy childhood and preparation for a healthy adult life.  Everyone needs that; not just children!  I can show my children love because I have been loved.  I know One who loves them more than I- although sometimes that is difficult to imagine.  I believe every human being has a spark of divinity in him or her, yet how will anyone ever believe it if no one reflects it back to them- with words, with love, with appropriate touch, with time and fellowship?

How do I say today, “You are important to me!  You matter!  Look at how fabulous you are! I love you!  I am glad to know you and honored to witness your life”?  I want to say that to everyone I know!  Do I remember to say that in meaningful ways?  I am working on becoming better at that.  If I have missed you, forgive my oversight.  I tend to wrap myself up in busy-ness, which means nowhere near as much to me as you do.

I am blessed!  I have so many amazing people in my life, young and old!  What a great life!  So today I say, point-blank,

You!  You are important to me!  You matter!  You are fabulous!  I love you!  I am glad to know you and I am honored to witness your life!  Thank you for allowing me in!

Have a fab day!  Afterall, you are worth it!

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

