RSS Feed

Thai Coconut-curry chicken

This recipe came from a nine-year old memory and my desperate need for something to eat that had a little “oomph” in it tonight.  The memory is of eating in a small San Diego Thai restaurant to which my brother, Bob, took me while I visited for a weekend all those years ago.  I have not experimented much with Thai food: #1- I had fish sauce while pregnant with Joshua 18 years ago and never recovered from it (shudder), and #2 I do not eat out often at all because I do not have the moolah!

Well, back to the present!  I have systematically taken all starch, all dairy, all yeast, and everything else to which I am allergic (including most beans) out of my diet.  I am not eating much meat either; two small portions of meat in 3 1/2 weeks.  Anyway, I am loving that my body is healing and I am finally gaining some strength back.  I think my kidneys will forgive me for the grief I have given them over the past year or so, which is nice to feel.  But tonight I needed something apart from my green smoothies and salads, sprouted seeds.  So, in to the kitchen for a whirlwind splurge!  Yum, yum!  Joshua approves, too~  What is it, you ask?

My new version of Thai Coconut-curry chicken.  I eat it as is (because carbs are verboten; a.k.a. bad for blood sugar); however, those who are allowed the pleasure could serve it over sticky rice, steamed rice, or with noodles.  Imagine the possibilities….

So, here goes:  Thai Coconut-curry chicken- by Shoshannah Turner

1 tablespoon oil I use EV coconut oil, but olive oil, peanut oil, or any other kind works

1 can Coconut milk

1-2 tablespoons green curry paste, according to taste- I like more!

1 chicken breast, cut into small pieces

4 or 5 thinly sliced green onions

1/4 cup shredded coconut- I use the natural, unsweetened, unsulfured variety.  (I buy it in bulk bins at good earth and it is no more expensive than the grocery store variety.)

4 or 5 thinly sliced green onions

1 carrot, finely shredded

1 can of water chestnuts or bamboo shoots (or both!)

6 large handfuls of fresh spinach

This is so easy:

First,

In a large saute pan, toss the small pieces of chicken into the oil and cook on medium heat until cooked through (no pink).

Add coconut milk and curry and give it a good stir so the paste is mixed well.  Let this simmer for a few minutes to let the flavors blend, then toss in coconut, water chestnuts/bamboo shoots, celery, carrots, and green onions.

When this is warm and beginning to soften (I like my veggies crisp), toss in the spinach.  I tear the leaves a bit.  I toss them only long enough to slightly warm them, not to the point that the spinach cooks.  And, it is ready.  Creamy, warm, soothing, and amazingly delicious.

My pan makes enough for 2 people if eaten plain; easily 3 if served with rice or pasta.

Variation:  For a vegetarian option, just make sans chicken breast!  This creates a wonderful, warm, and yummy treat!

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

