RSS Feed

Culture

Maybe I am affected by the weather; I am not certain.  I am experiencing a huge need for relaxation and uplifting experiences these days.  My family signed up for a Netflix trial in January, and I love the opportunity to experience some new films!  For the past several years, I have not spent much time at all on entertainment.  I have a difficult time finding films and music I like and that reflect and strengthen my morals.  I have had the opportunity to re-watch some old Bollywood favorites and make some new ones, which has been my favorite aspect of Netflix so far.

I love Bollywood films!  If you have never taken an opportunity to experience a Bollywood film, I highly recommend it!  This experience requires focus because subtitles will give the translation, usually from Hindi, however most Bollywood films are very theatrical and musical.  The songs are filled with romance and poetry, and some are very funny or moving.  I find Hindi films generally very clean, which I appreciate.  Swearing or immorality are quite rare from my experience with the genre.  I love it!

If anyone is game, here are a few of my favorites:

Rab ne bana di jodi- True love, romance, music, humor.  I give this one five stars!

My Name is Khan- This movie has everything!  Morals, a cause, romance, grief, healing, joy, humor.  I give this my highest recommendation.  Good with older teens, but not for young children.  Adult preview to decide.

Pyaar Impossible- Very sweet, funny romance.  Five stars.

Veer-Zaara- Wow!  Real romance; true hearts.  Five stars.

Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge- Sweet Romance, good morals.  This one is older and does not have the high-tech feel to it that some films have; the main characters start out immature,  very worth the journey.  Four 1/2 stars.

Chance Pe Dance- light-hearted; School of Rock meets So You Think You Can Dance

Jodhaa Akbar- Historical epic again, music, romance, poetry, with some battle and intrigue.  Great story!  Five stars- even my 8 and 12 year olds watched this and they were enthralled, in spite of the translation necessary. Five stars.

Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham-The family relationships in this story are so sweet!  Some of the best talent in the world worked on this film!  I love it!  Five stars.

Mohabaatein- One tragedy does not mean life is over.  This is a sweet, sweet story!  Five stars.

The great thing about these films is that if you happen to be a member of Netflix, these are all available online or on DVD.  Unlimited viewing:  I love it!

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

