RSS Feed

Time flies

All my intentions for publishing posts went out the window this past week.  A few ill children, feeling under the weather myself, and keeping up on the children’s studies and my own proved to be a big task!  So, now that the peace of Sunday evening is here, I am blessed with a little time to reflect.  I am grateful that through every challenge we have had the opportunity to grow during the week.  Last Sunday, one of the speakers in our church meeting share the thought that instead of just passing through struggles, we had an opportunity to let the struggles pass through us, making us stronger along the way.  I had a visual run through my mind that I shared with my children the next evening during our family time.

This was it:  When I pass through a struggle or trial, it can feel like I am weighed down, walking through knee-deep mud or even swimming through quicksand.  I thought to myself how often I have felt that and experienced overwhelm!  However, the other view I received, courtesy of our wonderful speaker, was of having something pass through me.  I thought about immunizations, or an IV, how something that caused discomfort and even some irritating side-effects can make me stronger and capable of withstanding something else, something worse, later on.

As I shared with my children, I want to look at my future struggles with that second visual in mind.  I want to question what I can learn from the situation and draw near to the Lord as I let the experience pass through me and strengthen me.  I also get to practice simply breathing in and out!  I pray that His strength is with my family and with yours and that we might feel His presence continually.

About dragonflywingz

Christian, wife, mom of seven amazing teens and kiddles, home educator, homemaker, artist, college student, romantic, dreamer. I love for poetry, music, art, fashion and everything that makes life beautiful profoundly-(sigh!)

Leave a Reply

